Liaison over time

I have come to the conclusion that, as a liaison librarian, I am a custodian of the library’s relationships with the clients in my discipline portfolio.

My responsibility is to continue to evolve so that the library’s relationship with our clients remains strong & relevant in a rapidly changing environment.And, that it grows & shifts in breadth & depth as is necessary.

It also means that I need to honour the liaison librarians (with this same discipline portfolio) who came before me – I build on the relationships that they created. And, I must be mindful of the librarians who come after me – set things up so that their relationships can build even better relationships between the clients & the library so that we are continually empowered to work towards the learning, teaching & research goals that drive all of our stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

